Kevin Dern’s picks for best albums of 2012

I decided not to rank the albums numerically – the order would change each time I tried. So this year I simply ranked them into three tiers.

(I’ve also made a Spotify playlist with many of my favorite songs of the year, which includes songs from all the albums below.)

Best albums of 2012

TIER ONE
Grimes – Visions
Dirty Projectors – Swing Lo Magellan
The XX – Coexist
Tame Impala – Lonerism
Frank Ocean – Channel Orange
Beach House – Bloom
Django Django – Django Django

TIER TWO
Alt-J – An Awesome Wave
Hot Chip – These Chains
Grizzly Bear – Shields
Allo Darlin – Europe
Fiona Apple – blah blah long title
Chromatics – Kill for Love

HONORABLE MENTIONS
Lambchop – Mr. M
Perfume Genius – Put Your Back N 2 It
Mountain Goats – Transcendental Youth
Santigold – Master of My Make Believe

