Friday morning in New York

This is our second full day in New York.  We’re having a great time… right now I’m sitting in the lobby of the James Hotel with a coffee watching people come in and out and checking a few sites while Rachel gets up and dressed.

Media_httpkevindernfi_vfsth

Last night we went to Sushi Yasuda, which is rated on Yelp as the best sushi in NY. I don’t agree… the atmosphere was lovely and the service was fantastic, but I thought the sushi was way overpriced and not incredible. The fish itself was amazing, but the rolls were strange – the fish was minced inside each roll – and the pieces of sushi were tiny. It was a fun experience though… and I also enjoyed the Nathan’s hot dog I had 10 minutes later.

Avenue Q was a lot of fun – we both enjoyed it. It was a small theater and we had great seats, and Milk Duds were only $2. “That’s because we’re OFF Broadway!” said the guy selling them.

After dinner we took the subway to the Meatpacking district to check out the bar at the Gansevoort Hotel. There was a doorman and a line of trendy young people outside, and although I was wearing my coolest khaki pants, polo shirt and Merrell’s, I decided not to risk it. šŸ™‚

We had a nice walk back to the hotel… I love seeing how the neighborhood changes from one block to the next.

For breakfast this morning I was trying to decide between two places I’ve never been before: Bubby’s , a casual, local favorite, and Balthazar, a French brasserie considered one of the best restaurants in the area. I chose Balthazar – we can have good pancakes anywhere, but a busy brasserie for breakfast is something you can’t do in St. Louis.

Today’s morning plan: Paragon Sports near Union Square (for messenger bags and sports bras – guess who is shopping for each?), exploring the Union Square area a bit, and lunch at Shake Shack – something we’ve been looking forward to as a highlight of our visit.

The afternoon and dinner are unplanned so far.

