Update: First morning in Rome

Media_httpkevindernfi_rcdwo
View from our hotel room terrace.

Wow… We were SO tired last night! We took a taxi to the hotel… I think the driver took the long way through the city but who knows. It cost $20 more than it should have but it was actually a nice drive, especially for Rachel who has never been here. Next time I’ll know to use a car service that charges a flat fee.

The hotel is beautiful… They put us in a great room on the 6th floor with a small terrace.

We relaxed for a little and then went out to dinner to al Vero Girarrosto Toscano.   (360 view here).  I was there with my Dad on my last visit here… Only 2 blocks from the hotel and great food. We had antipasto (cured meats, buffalo mozz, melon, onion, peppers and soufflé), soup (minestrone and pasta e fragile) and then shared two pasta dishes. All was delicious.

Now we are heading down for breakfast and then out to the Colosseum, shopping and exploring.
More later.

