Save a web page on your hard drive

There are lots of occasions when you might want to save a web page to your hard drive. Here are the situations I encounter most often:

  • I purchase something online and want to save the confirmation/receipt page
  • I find a long, interesting article that I want to save for offline reading later (like on a flight)
  • I have to do a presentation and can’t take the chance that I can’t load the page I want

I’ve used three different methods for saving web pages to my hard drive:

1. “Save page as” (works on Mac/PC, any browser)
Use the command “Save page as”. This is an option on just about every browser. It saves the page as an html file on your hard drive. This used to be my method of saving web pages, but it gets confusing. I could never figure out why sometimes it was just an html file (with all images intace), and why there was sometimes an accompanying folder of all the images. It was too much trouble to worry about, so I looked for better options.

2. Scrapbook extension for Firefox (Works on Mac/PC, Firefox only)
If you’re using Firefox, there’s a wonderful extension called Scrapbook that allows you to easily save a web page to your hard drive, and then access them easily within Firefox. It’s as easy as printing a file, and it works flawlessly. Download it here.

I find Scrapbook especially useful for pages you don’t need to keep forever, like a receipt, shipping confirmation, driving directions, etc.

Media_httpfarm3static_ldcop

3. Save as PDF (Avail by default on Mac, can be done on PC, any browser)
For web pages that you want to save on a more permanent basis, there’s nothing better or easier than saving the page as a PDF file. Basically you to go to FILE and PRINT (or click APPLE-P), and at the bottom left, click on PDF and select SAVE AS PDF. Then you can save the file to your hard drive, email it, whatever. It’s really easy.

Media_httpfarm3static_kfigg

This can be done on a PC, but you’ll have to install a PDF program first. Adobe will work, but it’s a big, slow program. CutePDF is smaller, lighter and works perfectly 95% of the time.

By the way – on the Mac (or on the PC with Adobe or CutePDF), you can save to a PDF file in any program that you can typically print from.

Kevin Dern – OSX – PDF – CutePDF – Leopard Tips – Apple – Mac

